RECORD OF CHAMPION DRIVER FROM 1909 TO 1915					
L B B 1909 Bert Dingley 1910 Ralph Mulford 1911 Harvey Herrick 1912 Ralph de Palma 1913 Earl Cooper 1914 Ralph de Palma 1915 Earl Cooper	$\begin{array}{cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc$				

Motor Age magazine produced an automobile racing season review beginning 1903. As the years rolled by Motor Age became more detailed in there documentation of their selection of "Champion Driver".

Above is a list of past Motor Age "Champion Drivers" 1909 - 1915 from the October 21, 1915 issue of Motor Age magazine page 6. In Motor Age's November 25, 1915 issue on page 5 Motor Age proclaimed their speedway champions. Gil Anderson the speedway champion of 2 mile to 2 $\frac{1}{2}$ mile speedway courses and Eddie Rickenbacher champion of the 1 mile tracks.

Motor Age in the October 21, 1915 issue describes "As the American Automobile Association does not attempt to solve questions of titular honors, this publication has taken upon itself the selection of a champion, practice inaugurated in 1909 and continued annually ever since."

R	ECORD OF CHA From 1909 1			CA	R	
LQ0 19C9 1910 1911 1912 1913 1914 1915	Chaimers Lozier National Fiat Stutz Mercedes Stutz	8 21 12 15 5	tel ji 5494733	puodes 3131305		Dotation 12377426

The American Automobile Association attempted its first "National Automobile Racing Circuit" in 1905 crowning Barney Oldfield as champion. The American Automobile Association would not hold a seasonal championship again until 1916 when Dario Resta was named champion.

As World War I placed more of the energies of the United State into the war effort the AAA "has decided against holding the 1917 racing championship" was reported in the May 24, 1917 issue of Motor Age magazine on page 11 two months after it was reported that the "Decoration Day Indianapolis 500 Race Off" in the March 29, 1917 issue of Motor Age magazine on page 9.

Automobile racing continued through the war but on a limited basis.

It was not until 1920 that the American Automobile Association resumed their Speedway Championship with Gaston Chevrolet earning the 1920 Championship. Motor Age announced a champion for the 1919 racing season in their December 25, 1919 issue on page 8. "The American Automobile Association did not.....select a champion for the season. Motor Age for several years before the Three-A took the championship in hand, was accustomed to naming a year's champion and this year, in view of the A.A.A. to take such action, again abrogates to itself that privilege."

Below is Motor Age's 1919 standing of the 1919 drivers by points and how the points were allotted.

	OF THE DRIVERS BY	
the principal tra points per mile second; 6 point	allotted on the following ack and road races of the for first place; 8 points p ts per mile for third; 4 2 points per mile for fift	year: 10 er mile for points per
Position.	Driver. Eddie Hearne	Fot. Points
	Roscoe Sarles	
	Howard Wilcox	
rourtn	Joe Boyer	
	Gaston Chevrolet	
	Cliff Durant	
	Louis Chevrolet	
	Dave Lewis	
	Jules Goux	
	Ralph Mulford	
	Ira Vail	
	Art Klein	
Fourteenth	Kurt Hitke	
Fifteenth	Albert Guyot	
Sixteenth	Eddie Pullen	
Seventeenth	Ed. Schillo	
	Louis Lecocq	
	Eddie O'Donnell	

Kenneth J. Parrotte January 15, 2020